SLAM and LiDAR Cave Mapping

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Addison Snyder

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Work in progress2.png

I've been holding off on this post for a couple of months now, but I've been working on mapping caves using visual-inertial SLAM. There's still a ton of work to do, but I'm getting there with the process and it's only getting better over time. I could practically write a thesis on it all, but to simplify, my goal is to:

1. Use VI-SLAM to map out an accurate trajectory underwater (where I'm at now, refining lots of stuff)
  2. Add an instrument tube to the front of my DPV. This tube will house a 360-degree blue-light LiDAR (ya'know, the spinning kind) to get accurate cave cross-sections. It will also read depth and house a much better IMU.
  3. Refine the processing of all collected data into a 3D map, and make the data and derivatives available for free (as in beer!) under a strong copyleft license.
  4. Spread the process/methods/documentation/data - this is really supposed to be happening throughout. I want to make this reproducible for all. This means how-to's, repositories of processed info, configuration, and maps. Ideally some random person in Mexico could buy a couple thousand dollars in equipment and map caves there, put in a PR, and contribute.