Teaching family. Good or bad idea?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

50Fathom

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Not sure if this should go in "Basic", but I figure here I can hear from both the instructors/DMs as well as the "student side".

My brother is coming back to the US in a few weeks after his Army commitment is up and wants me to teach him to dive, (I'm an instructor, so it would be legit). I told him I would and I feel comfortable that I could teach him well and get him down the right path from the get-go.

My concern is that, well, he's family, and sometimes when teaching family a skill-set, it can be "too close" and emotions and arguments and other crap can get in the way, inhibiting learning.

Our dad was a pilot and a CFI, and when I was younger I told him, "you could teach me to fly!"

He turns to me and goes, "no way. You're my son, it's 'too close'. I'll pay another instructor and not even think twice."

(I never wound up learning for a variety of reasons, but anyhow...)

I am wondering if anyone here has ever taught family to dive, whether it was brother, sister, cousin, parent, or significant other, and what your thoughts are on it? Of if anyone was taught by family and if it was good to go, or if they would have rather gone to a third-party.

Should I teach him, or have one of our other instructors do it?