Question Tell Me Where to Live in Florida

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

OP
hawaiian.hokie

hawaiian.hokie

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
2500 - 4999
I figured this might be a good place to put this question out there. I'm an Army Officer currently stationed in Hawaii, looking to leave the Army in late 2025. I love Hawaii and being able to dive every weekend, but it is way too expensive with not enough job prospects.

Being the planner that I am, I want to start putting out feelers for jobs and places to live early so I have a plan when I leave. I'm looking at Florida because I like the warm weather, it's veteran-friendly, and I like that it has no state income tax.

With all that said, does anyone have any recommendations on where to start looking to live/work in Florida? I've gotten accustomed to diving every weekend in Hawaii, so I'd prefer a location with some good diving spots/active diving community. I definitely fall into the middle-class bracket, so I'm trying to find a good balance between a lower cost of living, diving, and somewhere with decent job prospects (I work in emergency and operations management and have a healthcare background).

Any suggestions?

Savannah is the best city in FL to move to.

The good diving goes from Jupiter on south, the lower cost of living goes from Jupiter on north, figure out how much driving you're willing to do to dive regularly, but it definitely ain't low cost to live here, specially since pandemic, everyone wanted to move here and Texas.