Tips for Those Who Cannot Manually White Balance Underwater

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

leebo92

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I've been shooting underwater video for a couple of years now, but I still consider myself fairly new to underwater video. I was hoping to get some tips and different way of getting the best color out of my videos. The main problem I feel is that I do not have the ability to manually white balance while underwater, I can only do so at the surface before getting into the water.

My Equipment:
-Top Dawg II Housing
-Sony HD-SR11
-Magic Filter(Red Filter)
-2x Bonica Video Lights

This is the process I've been using for my video:
-I adjust the camera from Auto-white balance to Outdoor
-I shoot with the red filter attached(i rarely use the video lights, usually only at night and never combined with the red filter)
-I edit the video in post using color correcting and white-balancing software and hope for the best.

The results are ok, in shallow water 30ft are above im usually happy with the results, but shooting at depth seems to be the most difficult. I was just looking for any different approachs or ideas of different way to do this. Any feedback would be great, thanks!

Why not do the same trick I use on land? A piece of "perfect" gray cloth, as a way to calibrate. Bungee it on your arm, or around your ankle. Take a pic at desired depth, get the wb to your liking.