• Buy a housing for DSLR

Votes: 5 21.7%
  • Buy a housing for Point and shoot

Votes: 8 34.8%
  • Find a package or underwater camera?

Votes: 10 43.5%

• Total voters

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Bearcat11

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hello, I’m relatively new to diving (14months or so certified) but am fairly proficient at photography and consider it a hobby as well. I recently completed my Rescue Diver cert and will soon start divemaster.

Currently, my wife and I are talking about purchasing a setup for underwater still photography. I have two DSLR cameras and we have a couple point a shoot cameras as well.

For us, what would be your recommendations for how to move forward with getting the right photography setup.

We won’t be diving until January, so we have time to get everything we need.

We are considering one of the following options:

1) buying a housing for my Nikon D7100 and the lighting options to suit. (My feeling is that it’s worth the investment in the d7100 because I plan to keep that camera for quite a while)

2) buying a housing for my Olympus TG-820 and getting a good tray/lighting combo that will work well with the D7100 or a future DSLR

3) buying a decent camera combo that includes everything and is a newer camera (either a sealife or a camera and housing). Since we can wait until Black Friday, maybe we can snag a newish camera at a special then buy the housing, tray, and lights.