Underwater salvage

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

marktripp

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello all,
I'm new to the scuba world. Some fellow colleagues and I decided to get certified with the intentions of being on a dive team in our area at some point. We are looking at doing different types of dives and where wondering about salvage. Can anyone point me in the direction for laws on salvage, mostly fresh water probably. I'm not talking ship wrecks, just "junk".

Last edited:
not sure how the laws work over there but i believe that in Ireland if it is in freshwater the laws of salvage don't apply. Check it out carefully ,

Oh and if you are lifting gear learn to tie proper knots and use a good lift bag.

The laws are different from state to state. Here in Michigan you can not bring anything up out of the Great Lakes because they are protected and are mostly all preseves. In the ST.Clair River where I do most of my diving it is called bottom lands, and the owner of the river front property has to give you permission to bring up anything infront of their home. This is per the State Of Michigan, I check every year to make sure they have not changed any laws.
You should not try to do any salvage diving before you have alot of dives under your belt, and every salvage dive is different, the bigger the object the more things to go wrong and to get hurt.

Attachments

• DSCN6487.jpg
    DSCN6487.jpg
    471.6 KB · Views: 1,054
Read up on "Law of Finds". I am still learning about my home states rules.