Undocumented wreck numbers

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DiveBandit

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
Ok, I'm just learning here so be nice.

Is there a unspoken rule pertaining to unpublished wreck numbers. I've been doing some reading on this board and a Spearfishing board, and it seems like you need to belong to some secret society to get the low down, and GPS numbers to any good wrecks.

If there is such a thing how do I get a membership. Is it like file/mp3 sharing where you need to bring somethig to the table??

for what it's worth, I don't spear fish, and I'm not looking to be Mel Fisher either. I am a history buff, and a few collectables would be cool. I can honestly tell you that published site or not, if I ever found anything of historic value It would be sold to a museum ,where it would no doubt belong, for us all to enjoy. :D

BTW, I have my own boat, so I wouldn't need to give numbers to a charter to get me out there, and I don't mind trolling for a day or two looking for something on the depth finder.(so I have something to bring to the table)

There's no secret club, learn and dive, make friends with divers doing the types of dives you want to do. Within a few years you'll know more secret spots that you can shake a stick at, as well as understand why its hard for a newb to find such information.

Already have that one, and yes, good book.