Used ScubaPro Regs and S600 Converting to Octo Question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

napDiver

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hey all,

I'm pretty new to scuba so basically, any information provided will help. I have two different questions:

1) I'm probably going to get a used MK 25 EVO / S600 for a really good deal. I'm thinking I should take it to the LDS and ask for them to take a look. Should I ask for the inspection (hopefully that's the right term) and how much should this cost? The owner said the regs been used twice in a pool and the first stage is sealed, so I'm less concerned unless they blatantly lied.

Is there anything I else I should be concerned with? I'm going to ask the LDS tomorrow what a typical annual maintenance costs. I thought about finding a class and doing the work myself as well. I'm sure it's pretty simple and I'm mechanically inclined.

2) Switching to FFM. So I wanted to use the S600 as my octo. I know it's overkill, but the price it actually makes more sense than to buy a 1st stage and octo seperately. Is their a good way to make it yellow or more apparent that it's my octo? I'm going to switch to a Yellow miflex house, get a yellow mouth bite piece, and add the color kit. But the majority of the body of the regular will still be black and yellow.

Anyways thanks for any comments!

1) ask to have it inspected / checked if it needs service. This should be free.

2) I’ve never seen the s600 come in yellow. just use a yellow hose.