Where / How to learn sump diving in the US?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jtsfour

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I am very interested in learning sump diving. I figured someone on here would have some knowledge to share.

I am currently Full Cave and want to continue with progressing in 'standard' cave diving. However, I have always been very interested in diving sumps and bringing gear into dry caves. I have some dry caving experience but not lots of it. I am not affiliated with any NSS grotto.

I am currently located in Houston but am from the TAG area. Does anyone know of any sumps or people diving sumps in the caves around Austin?

I know this is very much a niche subset of an already niche sport. Any knowledge would be appreciated!

The NSS-CDS has a sumpdiving committee, Jon Lillestolen heads it up. You should be able to get in touch with him by emailing sumpdiving@nsscds.org

I am very interested in learning sump diving. I figured someone on here would have some knowledge to share.

I am currently Full Cave and want to continue with progressing in 'standard' cave diving. However, I have always been very interested in diving sumps and bringing gear into dry caves. I have some dry caving experience but not lots of it. I am not affiliated with any NSS grotto.

I am currently located in Houston but am from the TAG area. Does anyone know of any sumps or people diving sumps in the caves around Austin?