Which comes first? The gear or the certs?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

diver1102

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi all,
I am currently OW certified and i have most of my gear (lacking regs and a tank). I was wondering is it better to spend the money to get the rest of my gear or spend the money and advance my training and wait to get the rest of my gear. I am currently a college student with a very limited income. Thanks.

My thoughts are get the gear (maybe not the tanks if they are easy to rent the same type all the time). Get it, get familiar with it, know how it all works/fits for you and be comfortable.

Courses are good too, but if you are occupied with "the feeling of new gear" all the time, it can hinder the learning experience IMHO.

There is a world of diving out there with the certifiction you have. Empower yourself to enjoy it by completing your set of gear.

Pete

If you have diving available to you locally and would like to take advantage of it, by all means complete your gear. If you are only diving during trips, it's a little harder to figure it out.

Classes are useful, some of them enormously so, but nothing makes a diver but lots of bottom time. And it's much easier to get that if you don't have to rent a bunch of stuff every time you want to go diving.

Check out your college. There may be a scuba club/program there with access to gear.

Also, congrats on your Eagle (judging by your avatar). My son just passed his Eagle Board of Review last night.