Wolff-Parkinson-White

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Sarasmile

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I had an abnormal EKG a couple weeks ago saying that I have Wolff Parkinson White Syndrome. I'm hoping this is a mistake and am having further testing this week, but I'm A-symptomatic and have been on many dives prior to finding this out.

Anyone have any advice? Cardiac ablation?

Sara

It's easily fixed. I'm not a doctor and I guess I shouldn't even be responding to you but my sister had it and I know what they did in her case.

What they did was to insert some kind of instrument into the artery in her leg. I think it was something like a laser, which they used to zap the spot where the short-circuit was happening (great technical details, eh? :)). After that it was gone. I don't know how severe her case was but I know that she was having a lot of trouble with it. If you're asymptomatic they may just give you a medical-alert bracelet, but now i'm totally out of my depth so i should shut up.

IIRC, her doctor also said that it's possibly inherited, so you might consider getting your kids tested.

R..

hey there.

so i just so happen to be in the situation of not only having a family history of wpw, but also being the person you'd come to if intervention was deemed necessary.