Wrist vs Watch style + please help me narrow down my list

Which of the following Dive Computers would you purchase?

• Total voters

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

travelrider

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hi everyone,

I'm new to diving and I'm shopping for a dive computer with wireless AI and Nitrox capability and PC interface. I don't want to WASTE money, but at the same time, I'll fork over the cash if I need to, and I'm kind of a gadget guy.

So far, I've only played with a Galileo Sol and my first impression was that it was very user friendly and had everything I needed (and then some). My second impression was "Wow, this is huge!". So, I'm wondering about the size of the Galileo Sol vs something the size of the Oceanic OC1, which I have not had an opportunity to hold in my hand yet.

Is there any benefit to the monster sized wrist computers? If I buy the watch sized unit will I find myself pushing buttons under water to see the information I need? I'd really like to have one that can show me my Air Pressure, Depth, Remaining Time at current depth, and a Compass on the screen at the same time.

My current list to look at is:
Oceanic OC1
Suunto D9
Oceanic VT 4.0
UWATEC Galileo Sol or Luna
Suunto Vyper Air

In addition to my question about wrist vs watch, I'm curious if you would eliminate anything from the list and why. Also if there's a good lower cost alternative to the ones listed that I might be overlooking. Definintely want the AI and Nitrox though.

Thanks!!!