1st stage technical question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
Does anyone know the exact PSI output of the LP port on a first stage? I am an airbrush artist and would like to use a couple of my old tanks to airbrush with.

Most LP ports are close to 130 psi but if you need more or less your LDS can adjust the pressure output to what you need.

-Kstnbike

I have a small regulator that I got from Home Depot, I attached an inflator whip adaptor to the inlet, and a regular industrial quick connect to the output, and I can then adjust it to 90 PSI to use for an air nailer. A setup like that would be ideal for an airbrush.

Technology_Shark:
Does anyone know the exact PSI output of the LP port on a first stage? I am an airbrush artist and would like to use a couple of my old tanks to airbrush with.

Hello T…Shark,

As you have noticed, getting an EXACT answer to this question is not possible as a regulator's IP can vary from manufacturer to manufacturer and even the exact same make/model can vary. They are usually around 135 +/- 10 psi, but some of the older regulators were around 120 and some other models such as a Poseidon might be around 175 psi. The best thing to do is get an IP gage and measure your first stage's IP it to see if it is within the parameter you need.

Here is a link that tell you how to make one or buy one. http://www.scubaboard.com/showthread.php?p=2925792#post2925792

Good luck,

couv

The range is 120 to 145 psi for most manufacturers.