Another opinion: To buddy or not to buddy

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sailordiver11

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I'm new to diving with only 15 dives. I recently outfitted myself with all new top of the line gear, which includes black ice BC, airsource, suunto cobra 3 computer, dry suit, steel tanks, etc.
I have an opportunity to dive with a neighbor who has a lot more experience than me.
My problem is that he is wanting me to forgo the use of my integrated computer for a traditional console setup. Also, he wants me to give up the airsource, for an octo setup. When I tell him I want to use my drysuit, he discourages me from using it and says my 7mm wetsuit should be fine. I tell him I want to use my steel tank because I believe it works better with my bc, he says that I should get use to using an aluminum tank. He says that if I want to dive with him, I need to use the gear that he considers best. He believes in more simplicity in gear. Which I don't totally disagree with him, but I feel he's being a bit narrow?
My dilemma is this, since I've made a big investment in gear and I want to be comfortable using it, I feel that I need to practice with it. But by telling him that I want to use my gear might jeopardize my diving with him.
So, should I stand my ground or should I give in and do it the way he wants it to be done? And just learn what I can from him.
I could use other opinions on this.