Blood Pressure Help!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

I'm not a doctor so this is only my opinion. To rapidly lower blood pressure eliminate all excess salt and caffeine (coffee, tea, cola drinks etc). In the longer term weight loss often lowers blood pressure.

Is your doctor using a narrow or a wide cuff?? Most use a narrow cuff which results in a incorrectly high reading so insist on using a wide cuff.

130/100 really isn't that high, I thought that it had to be more like 140/100 before it was high. Anyway, anxiety raises blood pressure so your fear of failing the test would probably be raising your blood pressure thus causing you to fail the test. It isn't going to be easy but try to relax.

:) I did it. I cut out alot of salt and cut down on smoking and passed my physical!!! I want to thank everyone for their advice and encouragement! I leave in 5 days for 3months of dive training and Im so excited I probably wouldnt pass another physcal. Diving has been a life long dream and its about to come true!!! Thank you everyone!!!:eek:ut:

and well done.

On a more serious note once things have settled down I would suggest that you see your doctor and have your blood pressure assessed. Long-term high blood pressure can have serious medical consequences but if dianosed it can be treated.

Once again CONGRATULATIONS.

I wish I was leaving to go for dive training, instead of stuck here in the never ending winter of New England.

I wish you well....