Combining Sudafed and Afrin

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Upwelling

Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
My doctor said not to use Afrin spray for more than a couple of days because it can be addictive. But is it considered addictive or unsafe to use sudafed pills for two or three days and then Afrin for a day or two after that? Is sudafed addictive also?

I'm not a doctor.

My (30 year?) experience with Afrin is the following:

Nasal congestion is relieved very quickly; however, if Afrin is used for several days, mucus membranes can swell, which makes the user want to continue to use the product even though the underlying cause of the symptoms (a cold) has been resolved.

I use Afrin and Sudafed as required (at the same time), but never while diving.

I will occasionally mix them. If I know we are going to be diving for several days I will take sudafed a couple of days before the trip and use Afrin on diving days, but never more the two consecutive days. Oddly, it seems that an OTC antihistamine taken before going to bed works best unless I am having a bad sinus bout.

I'm not a doctor either, but my one experience with Afrin is that it worked for slightly less than 48 hours after the first dose. The first dose worked amazingly well.... by the end I barely cleared up for an hour or two. Unfortunate, as the whole point was to let me equalize easily on a plane flight...

Bethany W