Converting fire extinguishers into SCUBA bottles

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dessaler:
i have a co2 extinctinguisher
thread 1.125-12UNF-2B
how to converted in pony bottle?

I don't know about CO2, but for those who might consider converting a chemical extinguisher, don't do it. I re-charged chemical extinguishers when I worked as a carpenter on a railroad. I remember how they stop your breathing on the slightest whiff. I don't know if these could be cleaned well enough and the smallest trace can is choking. That's the point, I guess.

I know this isn't what you're propposing, but would like any lurkers to keep the difference in mind.

As to CO2, I'll leave it to the shops to say whether this could be prepared and whether it meets spec. Good luck.

dessaler:
thread 1.125-12UNF-2B

What are the service pressure ratings on those bottles? C02 liquefies at standard temperature well under even 1500 psi, thus I wouldn't imagine those bottles able to handle much more than 3000, nor would I want to try.

have a co2 extinctinguisher thread 1.125-12UNF-2B
how to converted in pony bottle

Well that was common practise in the 60's and generally required a machined HP bushing(not cast as in homedepot etc). The next item is a 1/2in taper pipe valve as in the days of old and your 2015 or 1800# bottle is now a pony.