Diving the Spiegel Grove

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Tony387

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi All:

I will be diving the Spiegel Grove in a couple of weeks. First part of October, to be exact. It's my first time diving in Key Largo and I'm really looking forward to it. I have booked dives with Conch Republic on two consecutive days, diving the SG one day and the Eagle the next. I was wondering if anyone had any advice, suggestions, helpful comments, etc., for a first time Keys diver. I am traveling as a single diver, so I have arranged to hire a DM/Instructor to dive with me. I have about 150 dives under my belt, but other than a few dives on the Texas Clipper, my experience has been limited to lakes around Texas.

Thanks in advance...

I dove the Spiegel Grove and the Duane in July. I can't say that I have any specific advice, except to tell you about my dives.

The Spiegel Grove was great. The current was enough that I wanted stay in the lee or close to the deck. I did have to make one longer swim against the current to get back to the line. I was really sucking wind. If I had my druthers, I would have descended to the deck (slightly protected) to make this trek, but my insta-buddy was on air, and close enough to his NDL that staying up higher was wise. If you have a Nitrox cert, use it. If not, consider getting it. NDL of air is the limiting factor on this dive for most people.