“Fairly” Uncontrolled Ascent - Please help me understand what went wrong

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

KristenK

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hello everyone, I’m on a dive trip in Turks and had two upsetting dives this morning. I am a good diver, although only 120 dives, and can’t figure out what happened. I think it was equipment related. I have an Aqualung Micron and a Cressi BCD. I’ve been diving with both for 5 years without any problems.

Dive started fine. At about 45 mins the first dive and 35 mins second dive I started ascending. I dumped all my air, using dump valves and the shoulder dump. I squeezed the bcd the best I could to get air out. Nothing worked. I grabbed the safety stop bar and even that wouldn’t keep me down.

I will say my second stage and octopus free flow fairly easy. I have no idea if this has anything to do with it.

My weights are fine. I even added 2lbs the second dive. Sank like a rock and knew I was overweighted.

No one on the island services equipment (that’s not their own rental gear.) I’m switching to rentals tomorrow. But meanwhile my confidence has been shaken and I have 3 more dive days to go (and Philippines in January.) Not fun. 😢

Thank you for your knowledge and help!

Now that you're back home, you might take your gear into the shallow end of the swimming pool and see if you're able to have the same thing happen again.