First foray into buying equipment, help!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

klolson26

Reaction score
I am a novice diver (25 dives), and want to purchase my own equipment - BC/reg. I live in Boston, and will do some (not much) summer diving here - 55 -60 degree water temp.

I'm traveling to Cozumel in 3 weeks, and am tired of renting equipment that's not comfortable, doesn't fit well. I will also be using it to clean the bottom of my sailboat in the summer -really technical diving, I know :wink:

Looking for an intro package - don't want to spend more than $1000 total as I just don't dive often enough for the investment. My local dive shop was puching me on a $600 BC and I know that I don't need that advanced equipment. I will be finishing AOW this summer.

Also, does anyone know much about Henderson's Neosport line? Found a great price on a 3mm suit, but want to see if people have had experience with it.

Thanks so much for your time!