First Reg. Atomic Z3 vs Sherwood SR2?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Ultimate Shield

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello! First time poster and long time lurker here hoping to get some input.
I'm finally starting to put my gear together and I am ready to buy my first reg and octo. I live up in MA, and plan to do most all my diving all around New England during the late spring, summer/fall and early winter. Seeing as I am a collage student, I sadly don't have a lot of cash to throw into what can easily become a very expensive hobby. After a lot of research I had got myself pretty dead set on picking up an Atomic Z3 ($529.00) with a Z2 octo ($290), and I especially love the swivel hose feature on the Z3, but... a LDS has offered to sell me a Sherwood SR2 for $590 (not sure on an octo to go with it yet). From what I see online, this is a great price for the Sherwood, but I honestly don't know and cant find much about the SR2 reg.

So I guess my question is have any of you tried either of these and whether or not I'd be better off sticking with the Atomics or if I should go for the Sherwood deal.

Last edited:
I would go with the Z3 or even a Z2, as I don't think the swivel is work the extra money. The SR2 is an update of the SR1 which received fantastic reviews from the diving press and complaints from the divers.