First time to 60 feet

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Luke Fosburg

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello,
This is my first post on here but I feel like I need to ask some questions. I have been diving for about 3 months now. I am NAUI certified in SD, and NITROX. I am working on my Advanced cert and only have 2 dives left to do. I am going out this Saturday morning to dive 2 wrecks in Lake Erie. It will be my first boat dive as well as my first "deep" dive. Its not that deep but it will be my first time down to 60 feet. Previously I have not exceeded 35. I feel fairly comfortable with my abilities, I have great equipment and I intend on taking a redundant air source. I am a little scared about going to 60 feet and just want to know if any of you have any advice or could give me tips to help me relax and stay safe. Thanks

Make sure your buddy knows that you're nervous and take it slow. Make sure that you've done all your checks so you can take a few relaxing breaths without worrying about anything before you descend.
You won't feel any difference between 35' and 60', other than it getting colder and clearing your ears again as you descend, so relax and enjoy. Don't let the probable crappy vis, (it is Lake Erie after all LOL), bother you. Remember, as long as you are breathing, there is no need to get overanxious.