Is there a need for Divemaster to stamp Dive log?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

birdchua

Reaction score
Hi,

I am a newbie in diving and would like to know is it necessary for the dive master / instructor to stamp their name on our dive log book? My instructor did not stamp anything on my dive log for my open water course and when I call up he told me it is not necessary

Thank

A sig with a cert number should do it.

You should have an instructor's signature certifying satisfactory completion of dives completed as part of a course. The awarding organisation will not recognise dives that are not so certified. The signature should be that of the instructor actually assessing the performance of the various skills performed during the dive in question. However, if you have fulfilled all of the criteria for certification and you receive a certification card, there are few dive operations that will be too demanding about seeing your log book. The best thing though is to catch up with your instructor, if you can, and get those necessary signatures.

Thanks will catch up with him and ask him to stamp it.

In the case of PADI, the standards do say that the instructor has to sign each of the training dives.

However, for the diver being certified, there is really no use at all for the signature. Noone will check for signatures even in the rare case someone asks to see a logbook. What they are looking for is an adequate record of dives that demonstrate experience suited to the diving you are going to participate in.