Moustache Solutions?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Dakkon

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
So I'm just getting into snorkeling and still doing lots of research... finally got some Jet fins for about $31 shipped off of ebay... next is my mask.

I've got some facial hair, but I keep it trimmed pretty short. I was told at my LDS that I was probably going to have to lose it, or use lots of Vasaline. Then I was reading about the Liquid Skin mask and it sounds like it's working pretty well with facial hair. Are there any other masks that will work well, or is there another way to get other masks to work?

I was really hoping to go with the Cressi Big-Eyes (it's about $27 new)

http://www.leisurepro.com/Prod/CSBMB.html

but if spending another $60 is the only "good" way to keep my facial hair and not be constantly bothered... then I'll do it in a heartbeat. The only thing other than the price tag that I dislike is that they only come with clear skirt... but I could live with that.

Any other suggestions? Thanks a lot!

/dak

Shaving down a little under the nose allows many masks to make good contact. The difference in your appearance should be hardly noticed.

SeaYoda:
Shaving down a little under the nose allows many masks to make good contact. The difference in your appearance should be hardly noticed.
That's exactly what I do. Just shave the hair down a little away from your nose to give the mask a spot to seal.