My damn ears

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Lawman

Reaction score
Got back from Cozumel Saturday. My ears
are still popping and snapping! They clear
well in the water and feel clear now. They
just pop and crackle all the time. What's
up anyway?:confused:

I am not a doctor. This is not medical advice.

I've noticed that this happens to me after several days of repetitive diving. It almost feels like my Eustachian tubes have, perhaps, become a little swollen.

I find that (1) taking some OTC anti-inflammatory meds (Aleve works for me); and (2) using Aurocaine for a couple of days, helps immensely.

Good luck.

BTW, you're an attorney. So am I. That should tell you all you need to know about my medical qualifications. Further disclaimers are unnecessary.:D

This is not medical advice.

I have the same thing after deep dives - my right ear wouldn't stop squeaking after a 130' dip on the weekend - it felt like my ears had closed shut, although there was no reverse squeeze, and clearing wasn't a problem - the swollen Eustachian tubes theory sounds like a good one. Some Sudafed (post-dive) cleared it up.