My first dive call.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scubaranger

Contributor
Reaction score
I have been a firefighter/ paramedic for some time(over 10 years) but as a rescue diver I just recently became one ( under 3 years). Due to the wide area we cover and the vast number of divers on the fire dept. It boils down to right place at the right time( this comment is not ment to offend to anybody but just a figure of speach I wish no harm on any one.)
The call came in my territory where we cover, a witness white cherrokee in a canal. My Liutentant and I dress out as the rookie who is not a diver drives to the scene. Due to we where so far away about 25 miles away from the nearest hospital. We had many resources at our desposal. We had back up divers ready, another rescue to aid the primary divers and our department helocopter to aid us if need be. We also had two fire engine on seen one had the back up divers the other was the first unit on seen that had no divers.. It was qute a sight to see how much resources not including the police department with their M-16 drawn to take care of the aligators. We found the car due to the oil slicks we conducted our search in murky black water we found no one and our search was very thourough.