No air at 40' at night

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

billt4sf

Contributor
Reaction score
Fayetteville GA, Wash DC, NY, Toronto, SF
# of dives
500 - 999
This incident happened to me more than a year ago but I am new to ScubaBoard. Thank God for dive instructors!

We were doing the famous Manta Ray night dive in Kona and no rays showed so we started swimming around, following the instructor at around 40'. My wife and I each had maybe 15 dives each at the time. Wife and I both reached 1500 psi so I kicked steadily for 6 beats or so until I caught up with Matt, the DI. I signaled him 1/2 tank, he signaled "OK" and he turned around to continue leading the group. Just then I gave a big exhale and when I inhaled -- no air!
eek.gif
Just water in the mouthpiece. I thought to clear it, and reached for the purge valve but couldn't find it.
  • confused.gif

I swam a few strokes in near panic and grabbed Matt. I shone the light onto my face and I'm not sure what else I did but he removed his reg, grabbed the mouthpiece out of my mouth, and stuffed in the reg as he purged it. He also grabbed onto my BC. I started breathing heavily to convince myself it was OK to breathe. We exchanged OK signals, he signaled to go up and we did, me breathing heavily most of the time. It just felt SO GOOD to breathe!