Service issues at LDS for used equip or bought elsewhere?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

FishLips

Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new at this, but just starting to look at purchasing my own equipment.

I understand that you need to have regulators serviced every year, is that true for BCs too? If I buy online (from an authorized dealer) will I be able get service from a local dealer? Or what if I buy from LDS, but then need service somewhere else? Or what if I buy a used piece of equipment? Will I be able to get service at all?

I've read about gray market items and problems with warranty, so I want to stear clear of that. I'm more concerned about getting regular maintenance and service.

Thanks, fishlips

It just happens that I get my Conshelf SE3 regulator serviced at the FL LDS where I purchased it. However, the LDS I use in WI can also service the brand,and I would have no problem with it. In fact, thay will probably service my vintage Conshelf XII if I decide to do some serious Midwest diving.

After the warranty runs out, you pay anywhere you go.

FishLips:
Hi everyone,

I'm new at this, but just starting to look at purchasing my own equipment.

I understand that you need to have regulators serviced every year, is that true for BCs too? If I buy online (from an authorized dealer) will I be able get service from a local dealer? Or what if I buy from LDS, but then need service somewhere else? Or what if I buy a used piece of equipment? Will I be able to get service at all?