Sidemount class July 13,14 with Steve Lewis report.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jim Lapenta

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
This weekend I did my SM class with Steve Lewis (Doppler here on SB) at Gilboa Quarry in Ohio. There were four of us in class. I have been backmounting doubles for over 5 years now, slinging stages for about as long, and did have two dives on my SM rig prior to this. The concept of bottles on the side was not new but slinging them properly for SM was. I had set up my rig with help from Jill Heinerth and Jeff Loflin's video. While it was not wrong it was different and a bit more complicated than the method we were shown and advised to try in Steve's class.

I had set up my bottles in the typical north Florida cave stage bottle style and got to try it that way after some adjusting of the rigging and then after being shown the method that Steve prefers. Both work. But Steve's is somewhat cleaner and less cluttered. the great thing was being able to use mine, shown another, talked about a couple options for both, and then advised to give a good try on each and see what works best for me. There was no "you must do it this way or it's wrong!" BS.

That is not how Steve teaches a class. He allows and encourages us to think with advice, comments, and instruction taking place when and where it is needed.