Tank size question from a beginner diver.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

cranstonjdc

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Im new to diving. have logged 15 dives. I was just curious how big of a difference 100s make compared to 80s.

For? Length of dive? Buoyancy characteristics??

100's have 20 more cubic feet (25% more) of gas.

The two biggest variables in air consumption are the depth of the dive, and the divers SAC rate. SAC rate can be impacted by the divers size and lung capacity as well as experience. Most divers can stretch an AL80 and reach NDL without running out of air. Newbies maybe not so much.

Steel tanks have different buoyancy characteristics vs. Alum. Most Alum tanks are 2~3 lbs negative full, and a few lbs positive empty. Steel tanks tend to be more negative full, and a couple lbs negative empty.

AL 100's are larger and heavier than AL80's. However the biggest difference is that the diameter is a bit larger, and that is a PITA since one has to adjust CAM bands. Steel 100's are the same diameter as AL80's, and a bit shorter.

Steel tanks are a lot more expensive vs. AL.

As a new diver I would hold off on tanks until you have a few more dives, however Steel 100's are very nice, so if you want to blow a few hundred bucks you would likely not regret buying steel. AL 80's are cheap used if you can find a good deal, under $100 for one in hydro and vis.

Im new to diving. have logged 15 dives. I was just curious how big of a difference 100s make compared to 80s.