Using a lot of air whilst kicking

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

richiet

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hi

This is my first post. Hello.

I am new to diving (35 dives, dive around once or twice a month) and mainly dive around the Middle East.

I have noticed that on a normal dive, my air consumption is getting better. However, when I need to kick for instance if there's a current, it quickly goes out of the window. I'm 182 cm and 90 kg if that helps.

Recently, I went diving in the red sea. I dove a wreck and was fine. My air was good. But then we swan over to another wreck and I BURNED through oxygen in the short time that we were swimming. I ended up much lower on air than I should have been. I also recently did a dive with a strong current and was at 50 bar after only 25 minutes!

Does anyone have any good resources for helping this? Are there any good exercises I can do? Are there any good resources people have on finning in certain ways, or the best way to fin to preserve oxygen?

Thank you in advance.

Well you've got a few things that sapped your air.

Firstly you were deeper than expected. not sure the depths, but deeper is going to lead you to consume air faster, its just a question of "how much?"

Second, probably the biggest one: the strong current. There are a couple strategies to current, the standard idea is to begin your dive swimming into the current, turn at your turn around pressure, and then return with the current pushing you so you'll kick far less.