First BC purchase (BP/W) Help Wanted

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Hydrogen

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
Long story short:

I'm new to diving but getting into it for underwater archaeology. Myself and several friends are going on a 6 week underwater archaeology field school in October 2011. Ive started my Basic OW and should dive in 2 weeks, then ill be doing my Advanced OW and then advanced nitrox and decompression procedures.

After weeks of research on forums (only joined yesterday though) ,talking to a few local dive shops and talking to some archaeologists (here at my school and the people who run the field school) I've decided to go with a BP/W.

What im looking for is a BP/W that I can use single or double tanks on and doesn't break the bank. This is going to be the second highest $$ value piece of gear I have to buy besides my drysuit. I'm looking to spend about 500 bones. If i need a separate backplate for doubles than that doesn't need to to be factored into the cost as I wont be diving doubles from the start.

Thanks All, I found way more information on these forums than anywhere else!

I do not wish to start a Jacket/Vest VS BP/W debate, I've already read hundreds.