Does Nitrox help air consumption?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Bllprk

Reaction score
I was diving at a local quarry (I live in IN) and I was talking to a diver who was diving Nitrox while on my surface interval. I inquired to why he was using nitrox since the quarry was only 35 ft deep. He told me it was for more bottom time (which is true) and then he said that a single 80cf tank lasts him about 3 hrs on nitrox and helps his air consumption. I am new to the sport (I have 19 dives), but I think he was blowing smoke. I know that nitox has a higher percenatge of O2 in it than normal air to help with deco diving, but does the increase in O2 cause your CO2 produced to be less so you feel the need to breathe less often or was this diver just full of it?

Thank You

Frank:confused:

Mileage seems to vary. Some of the divers in my area showed substantial improvement in air consumption with Nitrox, some showed improvement at depth only and some showed no improvement at all. So there are, in my opinion, a lot of other factors involved and a simple statement that nitrox improves air consumption cannot be made.