Wreck certification course in the Puget Sound area?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

glwillia

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm new to the Seattle area, and I'd love to get my wreck diving cert. I've dived wrecks before, namely in Coron Bay in the Philippines, including penetration, so I'm definitely comfortable with it and I've done it before (I have my advanced open water and am getting drysuit in 1.5 weeks, and nitrox in late July). Can someone recommend a good local instructor/course? Also, are there any good groups/outings for nearby wrecks? I'd love to check out the Dawn and the PB4Y in Lake Washington.

Jerry Dollar teaches a wreck course, including basic penetration, through Bubbles Below. However, the two wrecks you mention are not appropriate dives at all for someone with limited experience. Lake Washington is very challenging, with a poorly defined colloidal silt bottom and some of the most miserable viz you will find anywhere. The Dawn sits at 120, and the PB4Y is by anyone's measure a technical dive, sitting at 150.

We do have any number of wrecks in salt water here that lie in recreational depths. We have the barges at Shilshole, the Possession Point ferry, the Anna Foss tugboat, a barge off Des Moines, and of course, all the small wrecks at Edmonds and the Honey Bear at Cove 2. Scott Boyd's Puget Sound Wreck Dives is an excellent book, and gives you an overview of what's around to dive.