Cozumel Advice For New Solo Diver

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Marybeth42

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello divers,

I just finished my open water certification and am planning a vacation with my family to Cozumel in a few months. Though nobody else dives, I plan on spending as much of my time as I can in the water.
Any suggestions for good places to dive with? I'm a little nervous diving with a group of strangers since I'm a beginner, don't have a buddy with me, and have no ocean diving experience. It seems like most people who dive travel with friends or partners so they automatically have a buddy and I'm feeling a little intimidated that this is not my situation.

Thanks ahead for any of your responses.

I did the same thing for my first dives after cert. All I can recomend is do some research and be honest with the dive op you choose. I dove wit Aldora and told them this was my first dives after cert. They did not hold my hand but they did take very good care of me, offering advice on how to improve my skills. I'm sure there are other ops that will take good care of you, the most important thing is to be honest as to your skill level and if you are uncomfortable with the proposed dive voice your opinion. Also a private DM for the first day or two would not be a bad idea. I believe most places it would be around 50$ a day extra. Good luck and enjoy this wonderfull underwater world, you might get bit by the diving bug and plan trips every other month.

Hello divers,