Skills to brush up before certification

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
Hey all,

I'm new to diving and have just begun researching certification. I've always enjoyed swimming and been comfortable in the water, but in the last few years I haven't done anything more strenuous than swimming from a boat to an inner tube (~10 yards) while trying not to spill a drink.

In researching certifications, I've seen a number of different ideas regarding prerequisite level of skill ranging from simply being able to swim to being able to swim 200 yards without stopping followed by 10 minutes of treading water or even being able to run a 12 minute mile. I've also seen a number of suggestions about taking skin diving courses prior to an open water certification as a foundational step.

So, my questions are:
- What type of skills are worth spending a few months brushing up on prior to starting certification?
- What other sort of preparation did most of you do prior to certification and what sort of timeline did you follow leading up to certification and your first dives?

Thanks in advance.