Desiccant useful life

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

happybuddha

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to UW photography and recently purchased an Olympus PT-016 housing for my girlfirends point and shoot (wanted a PT-010 for my C-4040 but can't find one) for us both to play with. The housing came with 6 or so desiccant packs, but no where in the manual do I see any indication as to how long these are supposed to work.

Does anyone have any idea how many dives we should expect one pack to last?

Thanks,
Drew

It's going to depend on where you dive.

In Cozumel I needed to change packs and even use two in the housing. Here in Australia I use a single pack and have used the same one for over 40 dives with no problems.

I think the best bet is to get the ones that show moisture (they turn pink) coz I know that 40 dives is probably asking way way too much of these things!

You can rejuvenate them in a warm oven, too.

Lots more people will chime in with their experiences, I am sure...

I put one pack in each time I close the case. After a dive trip, I recharge all of my packs by baking them in a 250 degree over for about 45 minutes.

-Mark

happybuddha:
Hi Everyone,

Does anyone have any idea how many dives we should expect one pack[desiccant] to last?

Thanks,
Drew

Desiccant should always be used, however it very important to be aware of the amount of moisture is being trapped inside the housing.