Adaptive techniques

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

LakerPride

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I am looking for some ideas on how to adapt my procedures. I am a Marine Corps Vet and had serious back injuries which I have for the most part recovered from. But several times now since returning to diving I have aggravated my lower back while suiting up. I use a Halcyon Pinnacle 30, the plate is 12 pounds, then I have another 12 pounds ditchable. Combined with a single AL80, argon bottle for my suit, regs, canister light, and several other small accessories, it is getting to the point where I am barely able to suit up by myself, not to mention if I am diving doubles. I also use a DUI TLS350 suit. So between the bulk of my gear and the reduced mobility on land of my suit, I keep straining my back getting suited up. It has ruined 2 dive weekends now. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions? I dive the Lake Superior wrecks and cannot imagine how hard this is going to be as I get older.

I can't begin to offer medical advice on strengthening your back but I hope you are being provided for in that regard.

On the practical side a few things come to mind.

1) Diving with less ambitious gear for instance. Argon, can light and doubles may be making the difference between having a nice dive and a painful weekend. An additional step back may be going wet when and where that's comfortable or making sure your garment and accompanying weight are at the minimum for the conditions.