Advanced Open water diver looking for Malta recomenmdations

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hello, my name is Pete. I've been diving for 4 years now and recently got my fiancé certified as well. My fiancé and I are traveling on a European cruise in November and will be diving in Malta on 11/6/2018. I am looking for divers who have decent recommendations for diving there. I have seen plenty of videos and nothing has grabbed my attention thus far. Your advice is greatly appreciated.

I am assuming you will be depth restricted, (20m?).

Malta is a mix of scenic and wreck. A number of the wrecks where intentionally sunk, some of the others are war casualties, Malta suffered significantly during the second world war, the country and its citizens where awarded the George Cross.

Although there is not much of it left the wreck of the HMS Maori it is shallow (16m) and located 100m from the shore in Valletta, this is a war casualty from February 1942. Its pretty, with a good selection of life, a nice shore dive.

The north of the Island, Cirkewwa, is probably the busiest diving area, its closest to the big tourist hotels (although the whole of the island is a tourist area). This is the area most people are taken to dive, especially if they are newer divers.
The wreck of the Um el Faroud is a nice dive (intentionally sunk after an accident in the dock yards), but probably too deep.

What type of dives are you interested in?