Apo or Moalboal?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

krazymad

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I'm a rookie diver, will be spending this week at Alona Beach to get OW certified. After I get my OW and do some diving at Alona Beach, I'll have another 5 days in the Philippines and wanted to travel to another dive area. I was going to do Moalboal for the school of fishes, but read that besides Pescador, there isn't much to see in Moalboal.

How does Apo compared to Moalboal?
Which area is better for a beginner, Apo or Moalboal?

Dear Krazy,
There is enough to see in Moalboal to keep any new diver happy. You can see tons of turtles, plenty of small stuff if you get a good guide, and nice variety of corals and many different species of fishes(although not in huge quantities). If you think you will be coming back to the Phils and in Particular the Visayas, I would choose Moalboal and then do Dauin/APO next time. If however, you are never planning on returning for another dive trip, and you really want to see APO I would go to Dauin and make sure I spent 2 days diving APO Island.

I have been to APO several times and really enjoy it, but staying on the island is not for everyone... you can search on APO on this site and find many different opinions..... feel free to PM or email me for any specific questions you might have.. Rogerdives at gee male dot commmmm

Cheers
Roger