Army Scuba Qualification Badge?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

KangarooSeatbelt

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I am a US Army soldier, and an avid scuba diver. I have seen the Army scuba qualification patch on the BDUs of Seals and actual army scuba divers (mostly 00Bs). I am wondering what I have to do in order to attain that patch to wear on my BDUs. Do I have to go to the Army Scuba Diver course (what is the course?) or is there a way I can challenge the course through my civilian certification? I am a medic, so I can usually get into any school. I'm up for reenlistment in a year, so I'm thinking I might be able to put this school in my reenlistment contract. There's no way my commander (an O6 with great connections) will let me get out. So if I make it a requirement for my reenlistment, she'll pull the strings to get me the school.
I just want to know what path I need to take to get Army Scuba Qualified.

Any help would be very much appreciated!

good question. Seems you can use civilian freefall school to transfer over for your HALO wings after you have obtained the proper amount of jumps. I would venture to say that in the end of things that we would be told "NO" because we didn't go through the clubs initiation.

Keep in mind that applying to any school that conducts activity that can put the completion of your tasks in your primary MOS in jeopardy will probably be rejected.