Bare Nex Gen Drysuit vs Wetsuit For Texas + Vacation Diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

rakpix

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
just wanted to get the swampdivers opinions on drysuit vs wetsuit for a diver like me. i'm relatively new to this, about 60 hours logged. mostly rented until now. i will be diving around the state (lake travis, aquarena, flower gardens) and making 2-3 trips each year (keys, carribean, pacific) to mostly tropical destinations. my issue is this: i have a liveaboard comming up in march, with water temps in the 82-86 range. but then i'll come home, and dive the flower gardens in may. i'd REALLY like to own my own exposure suit for these dives, but i don't think anything fits both. i'm thinking about a bare nex gen pro w/ sitech p-valve installed.

I just went through a similar decision process. I went diving in Houston two weekends ago in my 3mm shorty covered with my 3mm full suit in 51° water. To say it sucked would be an understatement. I wanted a dry suit sooooo bad. then I researched the suit for me, a Dui tls350. only one problem I do not have 2.5K in my Scuba fund. I do not even have the 250 I spent on a 6.5mm semi dry Scubapro suit but it will have to do. In Texas we do not dive so often in 50° water that I can justify the big $$ on the dry suit right now. maybe when I get into caving and spend several hours in the 70s I will need it but for now rubber rocks.