bcd use in tek diving?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dennisgrimm

Registered
Reaction score
Hi,
I am new to diving (started just over 3 months ago). To make a long story short, I am hooked big. I have my PADI OW, AOW, wreck specialty, nitrox specialty, and am registered for my rescue course. I eventually plan on getting into tech diving (not for a while yet) and I was wondering....

Half way through my OW course I bought a zeagle tech bcd because I figured it would be a good bcd for years to come, no matter how far I wanted to go with this hobby. I am very happy with my bcd (even though I am only doing recreational diving right now). Does anyone do tech diving with a bcd? Other than comfort, what does a bp/wing setup let you do that you cannot do with a bc? Basically, do I NEED a bp/wing setup?

Thanks for putting up with a newbie

Dennis,

You are problably going to be amazed at all of the mail that will come in on this one subject! As Paul Harvey would say: "Stand by for NEWS!":eek:

I commend you on your interest in diving, and on your desire to go farther in your diving education. The Rescue course is always a good one to take because it gives you the confidence to be able to handle yourself in the water while you help someone else. I applaud you for doing it.:wink: