Dive OPs who enforce 24 hour cancelation policy but can cancel last minute??

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

bladder

Banned
Reaction score
# of dives
I'm a Fish!
Hi new here, going to skip the intro thread because they're all the same, to the effect of "Hi I am new to the board and look forward to participating in conversations and meeting new people and enjoying this great hobbiy with other people" and get right to the point.

I've had some recent bad experiences with several dive Ops- I won't name them because as an intro thread my motivations would certainly be questioned if I start bashing some dive Ops right off the bat.

This is a general question to the community.

What do you think of Dive Ops who have the policy that if you do not cancel within a 24 hour window of the scheduled dive, you will be charged full price for the dive, however that same dive Op reserves the right to cancel on the diver right up until the evening before a morning dive- simply because there aren't a minimum number of divers?

How many of you have had this experience, especially during an expensive vacation where your diving is suddenly canceled for no reason other than "sorry we don't make any money (or we lose money) if we go out with less than 4 divers" and you either have to scramble last minute to find a Dive Op who is even open in the evenings or start calling at the crack of dawn hoping to find a place on a boat?