Diving and an ACL Injury

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

JoeyU

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi Everyone,

I am new to these boards, but I have lurked here for a little while because of the abundance of info on these boards.

I am fairly new to diving. I have been on 3 Discover dives (resort course). I was gung ho about finally getting my certification this summer but......

I tore my ACL in a soccer game 3 weeks ago.

I need to put off surgery until Christmas due to work, but I still wanted to become certified before my surgery. Am I crazy to try this? Should I just wait? My surgeon says he is certified, and doesn't see why I couldn't become certified prior to surgery. My question is will the open water dives be difficult with the instability in my knee. I think my knee will make it through the classroom part:D.

All second opinions are welcome.

Thanks

Joe

I am not a DR, so take this FWIW.

Can you lift and carry and walk with 40, 50, 60 pounds or more of gear? Can your knee hold up the stress of finning? In the pool you have very little to do physically, but OW can be very different, with currents and what not.

I guess it can't be that bad or you would not be able to put off the surgery until Christmas, but still, I think you may be taking a risk by going forward now.

But then I am not a doc, so who knows? Maybe the ACL has nothing to do with diving.

Welcome to ScubaBoard and diving in general.