Diving with full facemask

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

MattWilliams

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
i am pretty new to diving and want to guy a full face mask,
i want to know do you need to do coarse before diving with one?
Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
I dunno about a course, but you do need training. If your mask floods, you won't be able to breathe until you take it off and deploy a backup regulator. Therefore you need to be practiced (at a minimum) at how to don it, how to remove it, and how to recover from a flood. You should also be practiced at being able to maintain your buoyancy underwater while task loaded and without a mask on.

That isn't something you want to learn on your own ...

... Bob (Grateful Diver)

I'm betting the OP is just using the board as a vehicle to promote himself about his activities unrelated to diving, he could probably care less about a face mask, SPG, or whatever.

It got edited pretty quick, but this post started as one of a burst of several that all had a one line remark related to diving, then a Youtube link to show everyone how "brutal" he is...

:rolleyes:

You also should be able to scuba maskless for those very reasons stated above.
Definitely a good choice to get an instructor or mentor whose very familiar with full face mask use, to cover basics with you.

I don't really see FFM's as ideal for recreational diving.