Does a DM have responsibility?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scottf24

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I am fairly new to diving....I have OW,AOW,and Nitrox training. I KNOW that I am responsible for my own safety and I take it very seriously! But as a new diver I look to the DM on the boat as the leader......I listen to him....and try to do as he says. He is the one with the experience and the training that helps keep him safe. I think that all new divers will look at the DM to help keep them safe as well. And I KNOWWWWW..I have the training so I should be perfect..... But the facts are that new divers make mistakes. From what I read on here....the DM is not responsible for anything...but maybe showing us some pretty fish! Do all of you DM's here TRY to keep the new divers from making mistakes??? And I know you are not babysitters but if you are the DM and you let it be known......then you should have SOME responsibility. 2 minutes of your time could keep a new diver from making a wrong decision. :popcorn:

Short answer is - it depends. As a Pro I am always aware of what is going on around me. If I see someone doing something or not doing something that could get them in trouble it is literally impossible for me to not take action of some kind. What form that takes is determined by the situation. I may say something to the operator or the DM on the boat. Or as I did in Puerto Rico just take action myself and put a tank back in.

But this statement