Does anyone dive 5mm?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

somewhereinla

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I am new to South cal. diving and cold water diving. 3 weeks ago I bought a Mares Isotherm suit. I love the suit except I feel too hot... I completed 3 dives last weekend, 2 in Catalina and one in Redondo Beach, the deepest I went was 82 ft.
I am starting to think that 7mm might be to much for me, but everybody I talked to tell me 5mm is not enough... An other problem with my new suit is I find it difficult to move around, it's very constrictive. Is it just the nature of all 7mm? All of my experience so far has been tropical diving: light suit, no glove, no hoods.

Any advice would be appreciated.

To answer your topic question... I do! I used it in FL last October. (I hadn't yet bought a 3mm.) I also tried on a 7mm and found it far more difficult to put on and remove than a 5mm. One thing you may want to consider if you buy a 5mm is to buy a tunic to wear over top for colder temps. For example, the reason I bought a 5mm full suit was because I also bought a 7mm hooded tunic to wear over top in hopes of diving Catalina. (I wore 12mm on my core in the FL springs and it worked well.) Most people would recommend a drysuit over 12mm of neoprene, but I found it to be a cheaper solution as well as more versatile.

scottfiji:
if you are too hot, just dive without a hood...or take it off during the dive...
that should bring your temperature down to more comfortable levels...

Scott