Elearning For Junior Open Water

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

frogfish

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
My son would like to enrol into the junior open water course. The idea would be to do the pool sessions and open water dives this summer during our holidays, and we are thinking about getting him to do the self study via the e-learning ipad app.

Has anyone had experience with kids using the e-learning app ? Any real life feedback much appreciated !

I'm an instructor that works in a resort based environment and I really like it. You'll probably get a mixture of reviews but in my experience, I think the results of e-learning, especially in kids is generally better.

It does depend on the student - how motivated are they to learn etc but I find that if they want to do well then the e-learning does facilitate this.

It also depend on how/where the course is being conducted. If done back home then some centres run some really good programs where the theory is scheduled over a period of weeks and the student gets a solid learning experience.

If done on vacation then typically, the theory section of the course is allocated a day in the classroom. Both work, but if the student has issues with anything and needs more time on a subject then there is generally less wiggle room on the resort based course.

The other advantage is that often kids don't like spending their vacation sat in a classroom, especially while the rest of the family are out doing something fun.