First (and last) regulator

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

nicpub

New
Reaction score
Hi, I'm looking to buy my first regulator. I'm still a noob diver (I just completed my GUE fundies), but I'd like to progress to ice-tech-cave diving.

My main requirements are
  1. Easy to self-service - I want to do the maintenance and run diagnostics myself.
    1. I want to stick to one brand for servicing, so I prefer a brand I can use for everything regulator-related (deco bottle, bailouts, side mounts, etc.)
  2. I can use it in a dual tank configuration, deep and cold water dives.
    1. Ideally, I would love something that can work with ice dives, but realistically I will be diving in Antarctica or under ice only a few times, so if I need something rated to -2 for one week, I could rent it.
  3. GUE/DIR compliant (does it require four ports?)

I was looking at a few good models:
  • Poseidon Xtream (LGTM, but I heard concerns about catastrophic failures or IP - are the concerns valid or BS?)
  • Mares Navy II - it would be good if it had five ports.
  • Apeks XL4 (but it's rated "only" up to 4C, so prob not good enough for ice dives) or XLX50 (rated up to 2C, probably good enough for 99% of the dives)
I also heard about HOG/Deep6 regulators, but I don't know how well they are suited to cold-water diving.